Top Menu





Life & style





South African SKA Project Bursary Programme 2016

The South African SKA Project (SKA SA) is a project of the Department of Science and Technology, administered by the National Research Foundation. SKA SA is responsible for South Africa’s bid to host the Square Kilometre Array Radio Telescope, the design and construction of the Karoo Array Radio Telescope (MeerKAT) and the development of high-level capacity in radio astronomy and the engineering disciplines relevant to radio astronomy. SKA invites applications for 2017 Undergraduate, Honours & Postgraduate Bursary opportunities.

Undergraduate and Honors Bursary Programme 2017

The following students are eligible for an SKA SA undergraduate or honours bursary
1. South African citizens and permanent residents ONLY
2. Students who wish to study, or are studying, towards any one of the following degrees:
  • Bachelor of Electronic Engineering
  • Bachelor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Bachelor of Mechatronic Engineering
  • Bachelor of Computer Engineering
  • Bachelor of Science with majors in Mathematics / Applied Mathematics AND Physics
  • Bachelor of Science with majors in Astronomy and Physics
  • Bachelor of Computer Science, with co-major in Mathematics / Applied Mathematics
  • Bachelor of Science – Honours – Physics and Electronics / Astrophysics / Astronomy / Computer Science
3. Students who have achieved a minimum C in Mathematics AND Physical Science in Grade 12, or a minimum 60% for major subjects at undergraduate level.
4. Students who intend to pursue postgraduate research in radio astronomy, or in an engineering discipline relevant to radio astronomy.
Closing date for applications is 19 August 2016

Doctoral and Masters Bursary Programme 2017
The South African SKA Project will consider applications from academically excellent students who wish to undertake postgraduate-level research relevant to the scientific and technical goals of the SKA and MeerKAT radio telescopes, and who are:
  • South African citizens, and permanent residents of South Africa; or
  • Citizens of Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia and Zambia.
Closing date for applications is 29 July 2016

Click here to register and apply online

Post a Comment

Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates